‘Show me an image of the invisible God.’*

'Show me an image of the invisible God.'*

‘Show me an image
of the invisible God.’*

Install a consecrated box
Set round with wings and things
Half hidden in a fog
A darkened, curtained scene.

Fashion me an icon
Polished, worn, kissed clean;
Paint a gold-leaf halo
Godey and pristine.

Make it soar on cathedral walls
Out of reach, some distant dream;
Or in a fire, a storm, a cloud
Presumed; hardly seen.

Oh, ‘Show me an image
of the invisible God.’

Is incarnation too casual
Too dirty, too un-God;
A virgin birth too scandalous
God fathering a son too odd?

Hear the screams, sop the blood,
Cut the cord, wipe the crud;
Wrap him warm, let him suck,
Kiss his lips, rest him rough.

Welcome humble God-child.
Welcome to our neighbourhood.
Graced with eyes of faith
Here I see your divinity.

* this line from ME Lauzon ‘On the Birthday of Life’

One thought on “‘Show me an image of the invisible God.’*

Leave a Reply

